Other Free Encyclopedias » Literature Reference: American Literature, English Literature, Classics & Modern Fiction » Good Books: Literary Award Winner Lists

Whitbread Novel Award

  william trevor time night

1971  Gerda Charles, The Destiny Waltz

1972  Susan Hill, The Bird of Night

1973  Shiva Naipaul, The Chip Chip Gatherers

1974  Iris Murdoch, The Sacred & Profane Love Machine

1975  William McIlvanney, Docherty

1976  William Trevor, The Children of Dynmouth

1977  Beryl Bainbridge, Injury Time

1978  Paul Theroux, Picture Palace

1979  Jennifer Johnston, The Old Jest

1980  David Lodge, How Far Can You Go?

1981  Maurice Leitch, Silver's City

1982  John Wain, Young Shoulders

1983  William Trevor, Fools of Fortune

1984  Christopher Hope, Kruger's Alp

1985  Peter Ackroyd, Hawksmoor

1986  Kazuo Ishiguro, An Artist of the Floating World

1987  Ian McEwan, The Child in Time

1988  Salman Rushdie, The Satanic Verses

1989  Lindsay Clarke, The Chymical Wedding

1990  Nicholas Mosley, Hopeful Monsters

1991  Jane Gardam, The Queen of the Tambourine

1992  Alasdair Gray, Poor Things

1993  Joan Brady, Theory of War

1994  William Trevor, Felicia's Journey

1995  Salman Rushdie, The Moor's Last Sigh

1996  Beryl Bainbridge, Every Man for Himself

1997  Jim Crace, Quarantine

1998  Justin Cartwright, Leading the Cheers

1999  Rose Tremain, Music and Silence

2000  Matthew Kneale, English Passengers

2001  Patrick Neate, Twelve Bar Blues

2002  Michael Frayn, Spies

2003  Mark Haddon, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

2004  Andrea Levy, Small Island

[back] Orange Prize for Fiction

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or