Other Free Encyclopedias » Literature Reference: American Literature, English Literature, Classics & Modern Fiction » Good Books: Literary Award Winner Lists

Man Booker Prize for Fiction

road   penelope carey life

1969  P. H. Newby, Something to Answer For

1970  Bernice Rubens, The Elected Member

1971  V. S. Naipaul, In a Free State

1972  John Berger, G

1973  J. G. Farrell, The Siege of Krishnapur

1974  Nadine Gordimer, The Conservationist Stanley Midedleton, Holiday

1975  Ruth Prawer Jhabvala, Heat and Dust

1976  David Storey, Saville

1977  Paul Scott, Staying On

1978  Iris Murdoch, The Sea, The Sea

1979  Penelope Fitzgerald, Offshore

1980  William Golding, Rites of Passage

1981  Salman Rushdie, Midnight's Children

1982  Thomas Keneally, Schindler's Ark

1983  J. M. Coetzee, Life and Times of Michael K

1984  Anita Brookner, Hôtel du Lac

1985  Keri Hulme, The Bone People

1986  Kingsley Amis, The Old Devils

1987  Penelope Lively, Moon Tiger

1988  Peter Carey, Oscar and Lucinda

1989  Kazuo Ishiguro, The Remains of the Day

1990  A. S. Byatt, Possession

1991  Ben Okri, The Famished Road

1992  Michael Ondaatje, The English Patient Barry Unsworth, Sacred Hunger

1993  Roddy Doyle, Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha

1994  James Kelman, How Late It Was, How Late

1995  Pat Barker, The Ghost Road

1996  Graham Swift, Last Orders

1997  Arundhati Roy, The God of Small Things

1998  Ian McEwan, Amsterdam

1999  J. M. Coetzee, Disgrace

2000  Margaret Atwood, The Blind Assassin

2001  Peter Carey, True History of the Kelly Gang

2002  Yann Martel, The Life of Pi

2003  DBC Pierre, Vernon God Little

2004  Alan Hollinghurst, The Line of Beauty

*Formerly the Booker Prize for Fiction, this became the Man Booker Prize for Fiction in 2002.

Orange Prize for Fiction [next] [back] Pulitzer Prize for Fiction - Complete List of Winners

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or