less than 1 minute read

Follett, Ken

Literature Reference: American Literature, English Literature, Classics & Modern FictionBooks & Authors: Award-Winning Fiction (Fl-Ha)

(British, 1949– )

Follett was born in Cardiff, educated at the University of London, and worked in publishing before becoming a full-time writer in 1977. Begin with Eye of the Needle (1992), originally issued as Storm Island in 1978. Stiletto-wielding German secret agent Henry Faber comes close to learning of plans for the D-Day landings, until he is thwarted by an encounter with a woman. Tobruk has fallen to the Nazis in The Key to Rebecca and the fate of North Africa is in the hands of allied agents attempting to penetrate German military intelligence. Night over Water (1991) is set aboard an airliner heading for the United States on the eve of the Second World War. The volatile mix of passengers includes some of the wealthiest people in Europe, a jewel-thief, and a murderer under FBI escort.

Jack Higgins, Alistair MacLean, Desmond Bagley. See SPY  DH

Additional topics