Other Free Encyclopedias » Literature Reference: American Literature, English Literature, Classics & Modern Fiction » Encyclopedia of Literature: Tre‐Taliesin Cardiganshire to Hilda Vaughan Biography

Arthur W. Upfield (Arthur William Upfield) Biography

(1888–1964), (Arthur William Upfield), The Barakee Mystery, The Lure of the Bush, The Bone Is Pointed

australian title novels

Australian crime writer, born in Gosport; he emigrated to Australia in 1911, where he was a cook, boundary rider, itinerant worker, and miner, before publishing The Barakee Mystery (1929; US title The Lure of the Bush), the first of twenty-nine novels in which the detective is Inspector Napoleon Bonaparte, a part-Aboriginal Australian. Though the writing is stiff, the setting of the novels (the Australian outback) is impressive: among the best are The Bone Is Pointed (1938), The New Shoe (1951), Death of a Lake (1954), Sinister Stones (1954; UK title The Cake in the Hatbox), and The Will of the Tribe (1962).

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or