Other Free Encyclopedias » Literature Reference: American Literature, English Literature, Classics & Modern Fiction » Encyclopedia of Literature: Sir Rabindranath Tagore Biography to James Thomson Biography

Ross Thomas (Ross Elmore Thomas) Biography

(1926–1995), (Ross Elmore Thomas), Cast a Yellow Shadow, The Seersucker Whipsaw

oklahoma include yellow political

American novelist, born in Oklahoma City, educated at the University of Oklahoma. He worked as a journalist, public relations director, and consultant to the US government until 1966, when he became a full-time writer. Much of his writing is informed by his professional experience of managing political campaigns. His suspense novels dealing with political corruption include Cast a Yellow Shadow (1967), The Seersucker Whipsaw (1967), The Fools in Town Are on Our Side (1970), If You Can't Be Good (1973), and Briarpatch (1984). The Porkchoppers (1972) and Yellow-Dog Contract (1976) centre on sinister aspects of American labour organizations. He is highly regarded for his considerable stylistic range and fluent handling of complex plots. Other works by Thomas include The Cold War Swap (1966), The Backup Men (1971), Twilight at Mac's Place (1990), and Ah, Treachery (1994). The Brass Go-Between (1969) and The Procane Chronicle (1972) are among the thrillers he published under the pseudonym Oliver Bleeck.

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or