Other Free Encyclopedias » Literature Reference: American Literature, English Literature, Classics & Modern Fiction » Encyclopedia of Literature: Seven Against Thebes (Hepta epi Thēbas; Septem contra Thebas) to Sir Walter Scott and Scotland

Bob Shaw Biography

(1931– ), Night Walk, The Palace of Eternity, Other Days, Other Eyes, Orbitsville, Vertigo, Fire Pattern

novels featured tales

British science fictionwriter, born in Ulster. From his first novel, Night Walk (1967), he became renowned for the dexterity of his action-filled space opera tales; his early works, such as The Palace of Eternity (1969), featured protagonists of human warmth and complexity. Novels like Other Days, Other Eyes (1972) and Orbitsville (1975), which featured highly inventive scientific extrapolations, also demonstrated a growing humaneness. Later novels included Vertigo (1978), Fire Pattern (1984), and the three tales The Ragged Astronauts (1986), The Wooden Spaceships (1988), and The Fugitive Worlds (1989), set in an alternative universe whose physics permit an hour-glass-like air bridge between twin planets.

Irwin Shaw Biography - (1914– ), The Young Lions, Bury the Dead, The Gentle People: A Brooklyn Fable [next] [back] Bernard Shaw (George Bernard Shaw) Biography - (1856–1950), (George Bernard Shaw), Bernard Shaw, Widowers' Houses, The Quintessence of Ibsenism

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or