Other Free Encyclopedias » Literature Reference: American Literature, English Literature, Classics & Modern Fiction » Encyclopedia of Literature: Portrait of the Artist as a Young Dog to Rabbit Tetralogy

Terry Pratchett Biography

(1948– ), The Colour of Magic, The Light Fantastic, Equal Rites, Mort, Sourcery, Wyrd Sisters, Pyramids

series guards

British fantasy novelist whose career began with science fiction parodies of L. Niven and other writers of modern American ‘hard sf’, but who has become known for a series of comic fantasies set on a Discworld supported by four elephants riding through space on a giant tortoise. Pratchett's verbal facility, the balance of his plots, and his humour distinguish these novels in a genre not famous for comedy. The series includes The Colour of Magic (1983), The Light Fantastic (1986), Equal Rites (1987), Mort (1987), Sourcery (1988), Wyrd Sisters (1988), Pyramids (1989), Guards! Guards! (1989), Eric (1990), Moving Pictures (1990), Reaper Man (1991), Witches Abroad (1991), Small Gods (1992), Lords and Ladies (1992), Men at Arms (1993), Soul Music (1994), Interesting Times (1994), and Masakerade (1995).

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or