Other Free Encyclopedias » Literature Reference: American Literature, English Literature, Classics & Modern Fiction » Encyclopedia of Literature: Edgar Mittelholzer Biography to Mr Norris Changes Trains

Kenneth O. Morgan (Kenneth Owen Morgan) Biography

(1934– ), (Kenneth Owen Morgan), Keir Hardie, Consensus and Disunity, Labour in Power, 1945–1951

college historian labour university

British historian, born in London; he was educated at Oriel College, Oxford, and lectured at University College, Swansea from 1958 to 1966, when he became a fellow of Queen's College, Oxford. In 1989 he became Principal of University College, Aberystwyth. Keir Hardie (1967) and Consensus and Disunity (1979), a study of the coalition government from 1918 to 1922, were among the works which gained him eminence as a historian of British politics in the twentieth century. He has latterly concentrated on the decades following the Second World War, most notably in Labour in Power, 1945–1951 (1984) and The People's Peace (1990), which traces the social, political, and cultural history of Britain from 1945 to 1990. His other publications include Labour People (1987), a collection of brief biographies of figures in the history of the Labour Party, and Rebirth of a Nation: Wales, 1880–1980 (1981), one of a number of works on which his reputation as a leading historian of modern Wales is based.

[back] Edwin Morgan (Edwin George Morgan) Biography - (1920– ), (Edwin George Morgan), The Vision of Cathkin Braes, The Second Life, From Glasgow to Saturn

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or