Other Free Encyclopedias » Literature Reference: American Literature, English Literature, Classics & Modern Fiction » Encyclopedia of Literature: Earl Lovelace Biography to Madmen and Specialists

Arthur Machen (originally Arthur Llewellyn Jones) Biography

(1863–1947), (originally Arthur Llewellyn Jones), The Chronicle of Clemendy, The Great God Pan, The Three Impostors

stories include legend welsh

British short-story writer, born in Caerleon, Monmouthshire, educated at Hereford Cathedral School. He was the only son of a Welsh Anglican clergyman. His early immersion in Welsh myth and legend disposed him toward the esoteric; following his move to London in 1880 he worked as a cataloguer of arcane and cabbalistic literature and joined the Order of the Golden Dawn, of which W. B. Yeats was the best-known member. The stories of The Chronicle of Clemendy (1888) marked the start of his career as a prolific author of grotesquely imaginative supernatural and mystical fiction. The better known of his subsequent works include The Great God Pan (1894), The Three Impostors (1895; stories), The House of Souls (1906; stories), and The Hill of Dreams (1907). A later tale, The Angel of Mons (1915), created an apocryphal legend of the First World War. Other works include translations of The Heptameron (1886) and The Memoirs of Casanova (1893); Hieroglyphics (1902, criticism); and two volumes of autobiography, Far Off Things (1922) and Near and Far (1923).

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or