Other Free Encyclopedias » Literature Reference: American Literature, English Literature, Classics & Modern Fiction » Encyclopedia of Literature: Patrick Kavanagh Biography to Knocknarea Sligo

Margaret Moore Kennedy Biography

(1896–1967), The Ladies of Lyndon, The Constant Nymph, The Fool of the Family, The Midas Touch

followed college set ladies

British novelist, born in London, educated at Cheltenham Ladies' College and Somerville College, Oxford. Her first novel, The Ladies of Lyndon (1923), was followed by a popular success, The Constant Nymph (1924), about a gifted musician and the fate of his talented, unruly children; it was adapted for the theatre, and followed by a sequel, The Fool of the Family (1930). Other novels include The Midas Touch (1938); The Feast (1950), a modern version of the Seven Deadly Sins; Lucy Carmichael (1951), set in a provincial university; and Troy Chimneys (1953), set in Regency England, which won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize. She wrote five plays, including Escape Me Never (1934). Her biography of Jane Austen appeared in 1950.

William Joseph Kennedy Biography - (1928– ), The Ink Truck, Legs, Billy Phelan's Greatest Game, Ironweed [next] [back] A. L. Kennedy (Alison Louise Kennedy) Biography - (1965– ), (Alison Louise Kennedy), Night Geometry and the Garscadden Trains, Now That You're Back

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or