Other Free Encyclopedias » Literature Reference: American Literature, English Literature, Classics & Modern Fiction » Encyclopedia of Literature: Dutchman to Paul Engle Biography

Harlan Ellison Biography

(1934– ), Paingod, I Have no Mouth and I Must Scream, Over the Edge, Deathbird Stories, Shatterday

fiction fantasy stories short

American short-story writer, born in Cleveland, Ohio, most of whose work is science fiction or fantasy. His short fiction has been published in many volumes including Paingod (1965), I Have no Mouth and I Must Scream (1967), Over the Edge (1970), Deathbird Stories (1975), Shatterday (1980), The Essential Ellison (1987), Angry Candy (1988), and Mind Fields (1994). The protagonists of his best stories find self-expression (often at fatal cost) in worlds more disturbing than most fantasy environments; for them the human and supernatural world becomes an arena in which survival of its punishing challenges is the only reward.

Ralph Ellison (Ralph Waldo Ellison) Biography - (1914–1994), (Ralph Waldo Ellison), The Negro Quarterly, Invisible Man, Shadow and Act [next]

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or