Other Free Encyclopedias » Literature Reference: American Literature, English Literature, Classics & Modern Fiction » Encyclopedia of Literature: Edward Bond (Thomas Edward Bond) Biography to Bridge

Booker McConnell Prize for Fiction

Something to Answer For, The Elected Member, In a Free State, The Siege of Krishnapur

road sea michael penelope

An annual award for the best novel by a British or Commonwealth writer. Founded in 1969, the prize is sponsored by the multi-national company Booker McConnell and administered by the Book Trust.

1969 P. H. Newby, Something to Answer For
1970 Bernice Rubens, The Elected Member
1971 V. S. Naipaul, In a Free State
1972 John Berger, G
1973 J. G. Farrell, The Siege of Krishnapur
1974 Nadine Gordimer, The Conservationist
Stanley Middleton, Holiday
1975 Ruth Prawer Jhabvala, Heat and Dust
1976 David Storey, Saville
1977 Paul Scott, Staying On
1978 Iris Mourdoch, The Sea, The Sea
1979 Penelope Fitzgerald, Offshore
1980 William Golding, Rites of Passage
1981 Salman Rushdie, Midnight's Children
1982 Thomas Keneally, Schindler's Ark
1983 J. M. Coetzee, Life and Times of Michael K
1984 Anita Brookner, Hotel du Lac
1985 Keri Hulme, The Bone People
1986 Kingsley Amis, The Old Devils
1987 Penelope Lively, Moon Tiger
1988 Peter Carey, Oscar and Lucinda
1989 Kazuo Ishiguro, The Remains of the Day
1990 A. S. Byatt, Possession
1991 Ben Okri, The Famished Road
1992 Michael Ondaatje, The English Patient
Barry Unsworth, Sacred Hunger
1993 Roddy Doyle, Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha
1994 James Kelman, How Late It Was, How Late
1995 Pat Barker, The Ghost Road

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or