Other Free Encyclopedias » Literature Reference: American Literature, English Literature, Classics & Modern Fiction » Books & Authors: Award-Winning Fiction (Sc-Tr)

Sheldon, Sidney

woman comes fortune

(US, 1917– )

Sheldon worked as a television producer and scriptwriter, and began publishing fiction in 1963. Begin with A Stranger in the Mirror (1976), the story of an emotionally scarred superstar comedian who falls in love with a disastrously ambitious woman. The 90-year-old woman in Master of the Game (1983) has inherited a legacy of corruption along with her fortune. She reviews the past as America's social élite gather at her birthday celebrations. If Tomorrow Comes (1985) concerns a career woman jailed after accidentally shooting her assailant during a rape attempt. Struggling to clear her name, she comes up against dangerous criminals. In Morning, Noon and Night (1995) a wealthy man drowns while sailing his yacht off Corsica. The young woman who appears claiming a share in his fortune brings with her revelations of blackmail, drug deals, and murder.

Michael Crichton, Richard Condon, Wilbur Smith  DH

Shelley, Mary [next] [back] Shea, Michael

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or