Other Free Encyclopedias » Literature Reference: American Literature, English Literature, Classics & Modern Fiction » Books & Authors: Award-Winning Fiction (Pa-Sc)

Rankin, Ian

rebus series hanging strength

(British, 1960– )

Ian Rankin has written non-series books and thrillers under the pseudonym of Jack Harvey, but his fast-growing reputation rests on the books featuring the maverick Scottish detective, Inspector John Rebus. Rankin's laconic, often witty style was evident in the first Rebus book, Knots and Crosses (1987), but the author experimented with other characters and themes before returning to Rebus four years later. Since then, the series has gone from strength to strength and the complex and compelling Black and Blue (1997) won the CWA Macallan Gold Dagger. The Hanging Garden (1998) and Dead Souls (1999) were worthy successors and the series has been adapted for television. Rankin is also an accomplished writer of short stories and A Good Hanging (1992) is a crisp and entertaining collection of Rebus investigations.

Reginald Hill, John Harvey.


Rao, Raja [next] [back] Rand, Ayn

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or