Other Free Encyclopedias » Literature Reference: American Literature, English Literature, Classics & Modern Fiction » Books & Authors: Award-Winning Fiction (Fl-Ha)

Galloway, Janice

women short lives novel

(British, 1956– )

Although Janice Galloway's work has a Scottish dimension, it is concerned with gender rather than nation. Her first novel, The Trick is to Keep Breathing (1989), charts the descent of Joy into mental illness after the death of her married lover. Galloway's second novel, Foreign Parts (1994), is about a trip taken to the First World War graveyards in France by two Scottish women. Both novels represent, with irony and black humour, the everyday and existential aspects of women's lives, and experiment with narrative form. Galloway has also published two collections of short stories: Blood (1992) and Where You Find It (1996), which explore aspects of contemporary women's lives.

A. L. Kennedy, Lorrie Moore, Anne Tyler. See SHORT STORIES  SV

Galsworthy, John [next] [back] Gallico, Paul

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or