Other Free Encyclopedias » Literature Reference: American Literature, English Literature, Classics & Modern Fiction » Books & Authors: Award-Winning Fiction (Co-Fi)

Donaldson, Stephen

tolkien sequence health land

(US, 1947– )

Stephen Donaldson is the most original of the successors and emulators of Tolkien. His two trilogies, The First and Second Chronicle of Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever, are set in a magic land like Tolkien's Middle-earth, but their hero, Thomas Covenant, is both a modern American and a leper. His own health is intimately bound up with the health of the land to which he is transported; in the end he has to sacrifice himself for its healing. The sequence began with Lord Foul's Bane (1977). More recently Donaldson has switched to science fiction, with the Gap sequence of three novels begun by The Gap into Conflict: The Real Story (1990).

Tim Powers, Michael Swanwick. See FANTASY  TS

Donleavy, J(ames) P(atrick) [next] [back] Dombrovsky, Yury

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or